Check out this excerpt from my upcoming book, Veranda!

ImageThe sea is lovely, but distant.  How to know if it’s real?  I enjoy looking at it, but there’s no warmth.  A lush cerulean sheet, fringed with foamy waves. Sun dances on the surface, and occasionally a surfer or two appear, like ridiculous ants standing up to ride waves that inevitably crush them.  Only at night do I feel close to the sea.  The shishing of waves breaking on the sand makes a soothing, faraway backdrop .  Or do I imagine it?

I could go there of course, to the sea.  It’s only a short drive in the Jeep.  I used to go often.  I swam and lay on the beach, read books under an umbrella, even scuba dived out on the reef.  But when one is there, one doesn’t have the perfection of the veranda.  At the beach it’s about doing things or having them happen.  One has to constantly interact.  You don’t have a world, you’re just there and you interact, like functioning appropriately at an endless cocktail party.  Very public.

The sky is big, directly over the veranda and far out to sea.  You’d think it would make my world big, but it doesn’t.  It’s really just a cover for the veranda.   The fact that some extension of it covers the foliage or the beach, that’s nothing to me.  I just know the sky over the veranda with its dramatic shifts of light.  It’s like one’s living room is constantly being repainted.  You have no control over the color scheme, but what you get is generally interesting.

This morning the colors are bright blue and green and gold.  There was some fog when I awoke, but it was gone by the time I settled at my table.  The breeze here is cool, but I can usually push my lap cover away before lunch.  The thick almost chocolate taste of the coffee works to stir my thoughts and I open the laptop with a sigh.

Stay tuned for more!!

3 thoughts on “Check out this excerpt from my upcoming book, Veranda!

Leave a Reply

